• Alberni Valley Bulldogs
  • Chilliwack Chiefs
  • Coquitlam Express
  • Cowichan Capitals
  • Langley Rivermen
  • Merritt Centennials
  • Nanaimo Clippers
  • Penticton Vees
  • Powell River Kings
  • Prince George Spruce Kings
  • Salmon Arm Silverbacks
  • Surrey Eagles
  • Trail Smoke Eaters
  • Vernon Vipers
  • Victoria Grizzlies
  • Wenatchee Wild
  • West Kelowna Warriors
Team Sites
Follow the BCHL

Bulldogs’ President named BCHL Executive of the Year

Alberni Valley Bulldogs? President and Governor Andy Oakes has been named the British Columbia Hockey League?s Executive of the Year, the league announced at its Annual General Meeting on Saturday, June 6th.
Oakes?s contributions to the BCHL over the past year include service as the Chair of the league?s Franchise and Strategic Planning Committee. He is also a member of the BCHL?s five-member League Executive.
Oakes, who had previously suited up in the BCHL as a player, returned to the league following the purchase of the Alberni Valley Bulldogs by the Okanagan Hockey Schools in 2007. Oakes is the President of Okanagan Hockey Schools and the Okanagan Hockey Academy.
?On behalf of the BCHL, our Board of Governors and 17 member teams, I?m very pleased to congratulate Andy on this well-earned honour,? BCHL Commissioner John Grisdale says. ?Andy has been a true leader in all aspects of our operations and his commitment to the league is fully deserving of this recognition.?
?Andy has provided a great deal of expertise and guidance to our Franchise and Strategic Planning Committee and with our League Executive,? says BCHL Chairman Darcy Rota. ?His focussed efforts over the past year have accounted for a great deal of the success the BCHL continues to enjoy.?